Blackburn BID Guided Walks, Talks and Tours of the Town Centre

A programme of themed walks round the town centre suitable for visitors, residents and people who work in the area to find out more about the past, present and future of Blackburn.  Group bookings for schools, WI groups and coaches can be arranged.  Please wear sensible footwear and appropriate clothing.  All dates are subject to cancellation in the event of bad weather For more information or to book a place contact Blackburn Visitor Centre on 01254 688040 or email via visit@blackburn.gov.uk

 ‘Walk the Walk’

Developed in partnership with Business in the Community Healthy High Streets team.  This is a whistle stop tour of the regeneration and investment sites in the newly completed town centre, including Blackburn Market, Bus Station, Railway Station, Youth Zone, Cathedral Quarter Gladstones View, Blackburn Library, Fab Lab & Making Rooms.  Be prepared to be surprised!  All walks begin from the Visitor Centre at Blackburn Market.  Booking is advisable through Blackburn Visitor Centre or turn up on the day.

Duration: 1 hour  Meeting point: Visitor Centre on Blackburn Market

Dates and time:

Friday 27th May – 11:00 – 12:00 and 14:00 – 15:00

Friday 24th June – 11:00 – 12:00 and 14:00 – 15:00

Friday 22nd July – 11:00 -12:00 and 14:00 – 15:00

Friday 19th August – 11:00 – 12:00 and 14:00 – 15:00

Friday 16th September – 11:00 – 12:00 and 14:00 – 15:00

Friday 14th October – 11:00 – 12:00 and 14:00 – 15:00

Friday 28th October – 11:00 – 12:00 and 14:00 – 15:00

Talk to the Visitor Centre on the market to book your place on 01254 688040 or email via visit@blackburn.gov.uk

 

Hobkirk Museum of Sewing Machines

Opened officially in September 2015, by television celebrity ‘Sewing Bee’ judge, Patrick Grant.  Peter Hobkirk will give you a guided tour of a collection of vintage sewing machines and explain the background and success behind one of Blackburn’s oldest family businesses.

Duration: 30 minutes

Meeting point:  Hobkirks on Darwen St

Dates and times:

Tuesday 7th June – 14:00 – 14:30

Tuesday 5th July – 14:00 – 14:30

Tuesday 2nd August – 14:00 – 14:30

Tuesday 6th September – 14:00 – 14:30

Tuesday 4th October – 14:00 – 14:30

Talk to the Visitor Centre on the market to book your place on 01254 688040 or email via visit@blackburn.gov.uk

 

Blackburn College Campus

Blackburn College has a state of the art £65m campus where you can study Apprenticeships, Vocational Courses, Degrees and more.  They are the largest College with a University Centre in England.

Duration: 1 hour  Meeting point: The main reception at the Beacon Centre.

Dates and times:

Thursday 16th June – 11:00 – 12:00

Thursday 21st July – 11:00 – 12:00

Thursday 18th August – 11:00 – 12:00

Thursday 15th September – 11:00 – 12:00

Thursday 20th October – 11:00 – 12:00

Talk to the Visitor Centre on the market to book your place on 01254 688040 or email via visit@blackburn.gov.uk

Blackburn Market – Be Surprised!

Based in the ground floor of the shopping centre and connected by escalators and lifts to the department stores and parking above it, the new £8 million Blackburn Market offers traditional values but within a modern, new, bright environment.

Duration: 1 hour

Meeting point: Visitor Centre on Blackburn Market

Date and times:

Wednesday 25th May – 11:00 – 11:30

Wednesday 29th June – 11:00 – 11:30

Wednesday 27th July – 11:00 – 11:30

Wednesday 24th August – 11:00 – 11:30

Wednesday 28th September – 11:00 – 11:30

Wednesday 26 October – 11:00 – 11:30

Talk to the Visitor Centre on the market to book your place on 01254 688040 or email via visit@blackburn.gov.uk

Blackburn Library

Located centrally, Blackburn library offers a range of services with full access for those with special needs such as Books for leisure and study, Newspapers and magazines, 83 computers offering free Internet, email and e-information resources, Information services– from business advice to health information, local history, family history, music CDs and DVDs, talking books, printing, scanning, fax and copying facilities, welcoming spaces to relax, chat, read or study, community Living Room, homework help, learning courses, holiday activities, story times and development sessions for 0-5 years, author visits, reading groups and meeting rooms for hire.

Duration: 30 minutes   Meeting point: The library foyer

Date and times:

Monday 6th June – 11:00 – 11:30

Monday 4th July – 11:00 – 11:30

Monday 1st August – 11:00 – 11:30

Monday 5th September – 11:00 – 11:30

Monday 3rd October – 11:00 – 11:30

©2023 Blackburn BID

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?